Pfarrer House

This Queen Anne Tower house is believed to have been built by its first owner, Benedict Pfarrer, along with one of his sons—either Alex R. or Charles Theodore. Construction began in 1890 and was completed in 1891. Benedict resided here with his wife Anna Mary, who passed away in 1904, sometime after Benedict himself died.

This three-story Queen Anne tower house with Italianate and Eastlake features is rare; only 370 tower-adorned home structures currently remain in San Francisco. This one is particularly interesting due to its octagonal corner bay and side-projecting rectangular bays—topped by gabled roofs that provide a picturesque appearance. Please note the unusual overhanging eaves. Designed as two flats with separate entrances on adjacent streets, the façade features a proliferation of Stick Eastlake detailing: hobnail, saw-tooth, diamond and fish-scale shingle patterns, as well as jigsaw-carved friezes. The original and matching wooden doors are also noteworthy.

The house was sold to the Navarra family in 1915 presumably by Benedict’s sons. Joseph Navarra and his wife Mary resided here with daughters Lily Calabrese and Pauline Nicola. After their mother died in the 1980’s, the Calabrese and Nicola sisters kept the house until selling it in 2005.

The interior features original fir, oak and redwood floors; redwood and plaster moldings; redwood bead board; and ceramic tile. This building is listed in the 1968 Junior League book, Here Today and is considered to be in the top ten percent of the city’s architecturally significant buildings.